Mumbai Indians (MI) all-time best XI

The Mumbai Indians (MI) is the most successful team in IPL history. Having won 4 IPL titles, it is also the most successful team in the history of the IPL.MI has built their team around a core set of players and have made minimal changes to their squad over the years.

At, we’ve attempted to come up with the best all-time MI team, comprising players who have represented the franchise in the last twelve IPL seasons. Also, if you are fond of cricket betting, then we can help you in finding the best cricket betting odds. Furthermore, you can also find interesting cricket blogs and articles on our site.

Sachin Tendulkar

It’s hard to talk about Mumbai Indians without mentioning Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin was the icon player and the captain of Mumbai Indians in the inaugural edition of the IPL. He was the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap when he scored 618 runs in 14 innings in the 2010 season.

As a captain, Sachin has scored more than 500 runs in IPL in two different seasons. In 2011, the Mumbaikar scored his maiden century for the home-franchise as he scored 100* out of 66 balls against Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Overall, he has aggregated 2,334 runs for MI at an average of 34.83 and a strike rate of 119.81.

Lendl Simmons

Partnering Sachin Tendulkar, Lendl Simmons would be another opening batsman in this all-time XI. He joined MI in April 2014 mid-way through the league as a replacement for Jalaj Saxena. Simmons scored 394 runs in just 8 games for MI at an astonishing average of 56.28.

MI tried replacing Simmons in the 2015 season by signing Aaron Finch but his injury gave Lendl Simmons a chance to prove himself again. In the 2015 edition of the IPL, the batsman scored a total of 540 runs in 13 matches. This was an invaluable contribution to the team as they went on to win the IPL title that year.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is one of the major reasons for the immense success of Mumbai Indians over the last seven campaigns. He joined Mumbai Indians in 2011 and scored his only IPL century in the 2012 edition with 109* against KKR. Rohit was made the captain of the team in the midway of the 2013 season and under his leadership, MI has gone on to win 4 IPL titles.

Sharma is the highest run-scorer for MI in the history of IPL. He has aggregated 3728 runs for MI, at an average of 31.86 and a strike rate of 130.62.

Ambati Rayadu

Ambati Rayadu was a part of Mumbai Indians from 2010 to 2017, and he quietly became a cult hero during these eight seasons. Rayadu is the third-highest run-scorer for Mumbai Indians, only behind Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard.

The Hyderabad batsman’s most prolific seasons for MI came back in 2011 where he scored 395 runs with 4 half-centuries. He has scored 2,416 runs for MI, doing so at an average of 27.14 along with a strike rate of 126.6.

Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard has been a part of Mumbai Indians for a decade now. He is best known for his ability to change the course of a match single-handedly, and he has done it for Mumbai Indians on innumerable occasions.

Pollard is the second-highest run-scorer for MI in the history of the IPL. He has scored 2,755 runs at an average of 28.69 and an incredible strike rate of 146.77. The Trinidadian powerhouse is also a handy bowler and a dynamic fielder and has accounted for 56 wickets in the IPL.

Krunal Pandya

Krunal Pandya joined Mumbai Indians in the 2016 season. He is best known as a utility player who will contribute to the game either with the bat or with the ball. If he’s struggling with both these fields, he will definitely take a catch or save some crucial runs.

In 55 matches, Krunal has picked up 40 wickets. And this is quite good considering the fact that he doesn’t get to bowl his quota of 4 overs in all the matches. Krunal has aggregated 891 runs in his IPL career at a strike rate of 146.06.

Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya was retained by Mumbai Indians in the 2018 season for a staggering amount and he has proved his value by performing well with the bat, ball as well as in the field. In fact, he has been one of the most important players for MI in the last three IPL seasons.

The junior Pandya has scored 1068 runs for MI, doing so at an average of 28.26 with an impressive strike rate of 28.86. He has also accounted for 42 wickets in the IPL at a decent average of 31.26 and an economy rate of 9.06.

Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh has played for Mumbai Indians since the inception of the IPL till the 2017 season. He was a legend for MI as he has helped them to win 3 IPL trophies in 2013, 2015 and 2017.

Bhajji has accounted for 127 wickets for MI to his credit, with only Lasith Malinga ahead of him. The wickets have come at an average of 26.65 and an economy rate of 6.95. Also, he has scored 799 runs MI at a strike rate of 142.42.

Mitchell McClenaghan

Mitchell McClenaghan joined MI in the 2015 season of the IPL. He got 18 wickets in his debut campaign as MI went on to win the IPL for the second time. He followed that season by accounting for 17, 19 and 14 wickets in 2016, 2017 and 2018 respectively.

His consistency in picking up wickets made him a reliable option for MI. Of course, he has been criticized for giving too many runs which are visible in his economy rate of 8.49, but he makes up for it by taking a lot of wickets.

Lasith Malinga

Without a doubt, Laith Malinga will lead the pace attack in this all-time MI XI. He is not only the highest wicket-taker for MI but also the highest wicket-taker in IPL history.

Malinga has 170 wickets to his name in the IPL, and they come at an exceptional average of 19.80 and an impressive economy rate of 7.14.

Jasprit Bumrah

Mumbai Indians signed Jasprit Bumrah in the 2013 auction but he really caught the attention of IPL fans in the 2016 season. In 2016, he accounted for 15 wickets in 14 matches and was a constant threat to the opposition batsmen.

Bumrah has taken 82 wickets for MI, which are the highest for any Indian pace bowler. These wickets have come at a decent average of 26.60 and an acceptable economy rate of 7.55.