Lord’s Cricket Ground Announces Non-Honour’s Board XI

Located at St John’s Wood in London and owned by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), Lord’s cricket ground has a long and storied history dating back to 1787. Lord’s is widely referred to as the ‘home of cricket’, and it is also the home ground to the England and Wales Cricket Board, and the European Cricket Club.

The first test match played at Lord’s was between England and Australia, where the Brits managed to beat the Aussies by an inning and five runs. Australia’s first test win at the ground was in 1888. After this, Australia held a winning streak against England at Lord’s from 1934 till 2009.

The team dressing rooms at Lord’s are adorned with honour boards which mark every century made in a test match, and all instance of a bowler taking five winnings in a test inning, and 10 wickets in a test match. Names up there include greats like Don Bradman, Graham Gooch, Glen McGrath, and many more.

The stadium has as many as nine stands which can accommodate 28000 people. Interestingly, Lord’s is the only international cricket venue in the world where spectators can bring alcohol in the ground. What’s more, the seats are spacious and the food is finger-licking good. All these things make Lord’s a perfect venue for people to enjoy the gameplay.

Perhaps, one of the best parts of watching a match at Lord’s is that cricket fans can bet on their favourite players or teams while the game is being played. Cricket betting apps make it possible for players to place bets anywhere, anytime. Also, these apps cover almost all major events and markets around the world, so you can easily enjoy cricket betting throughout the year. 

WC Grace and Virender Sehwag will be the openers

With not much action going around, Lord’s cricket ground recently released an interesting non-honour’s board XI on its Twitter handle. The first player in the list is WG Grace who played 870 first-class matches in his career. He played five test matches at Lord’s and mustered 214 runs with a high score of 75.

Grace has also been named as the skipper on the side and will open alongside Virender Sehwag. The former Indian cricketer played three ODIs and 1 test at Lord’s and crossed the 50-run mark twice. Besides Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli have also been mentioned.

Tendulkar, Kohli, and Brian Lara will form the middle-order of the team. Surprisingly, the legendary Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara never managed to score a ton at Lord’s. While the former’s highest score was only 37 across 5 Tests and 3 ODIs, Lara, averaged only 20 in 5 ODIs and 3 Tests. The current Indian captain Virat Kohli has 2 Tests and 2 ODIs and scored 126 runs at the venue.

Jack Kallis is the only all-rounder in the team

Jack Kallis is the only all-rounder in the team. Kallis couldn’t manage to score a century nor a five-wicket haul at Lord’s. In three matches, the retired cricketer has 54 runs alongside six wickets. Adam Gilchrist has been chosen as the wicket-keeper of the team whose highest score at the ground is 90 in eight matches.

The bowling side of the team comprises of Shane Warne, Dennis Lillee, Wasim Akram, and Curtly Ambrose. It’s quite surprising that all these legendary bowlers didn’t manage to scalp five wickets at Lord’s during their careers.

Here’s the list of playing XI: WG Grace (C), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Virat Kohli, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist (WK), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Denis Lillee, Curtly Ambrose.