Everything About the Broadcasting and Live Streaming of The IPL

The much-awaited 13th season of the Indian Premier League is just a few days away from getting underway. The tournament opener will see defending champions Mumbai Indians competing against Chennai Super Kings in Abu Dhabi on September 19. Amidst the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, a lot of efforts have been taken by the BCCI to make this year’s IPL a reality.   

As the IPL 2020 is fast approaching, fans from all across the globe are eager to know the streaming details of their favourite league. So, at cricketbettingtips.io, we have prepared an article that provides the broadcasting and streaming details of the IPL. If you’re someone who’s into cricket betting, you can take advantage of our cricket betting tips that can help you in improving your chances of winning.

Live streaming of the IPL will be available in 120 countries worldwide

The broadcasting rights of the IPL are owned by Star India and they’re all set to make it a grand event for IPL fans in India. Star Sports will be broadcasting all the matches of the cash-rich league, and its various regional languages will be showing the games live as well. According to a report in InsideSport, Star India will be broadcasting the league in 9 different languages, including Tamil, Telugu, Bangla and Kannada.

Also, the live streaming of the IPL will be available in 120 countries worldwide. The official broadcaster of the IPL has ensured that live streaming is available worldwide by getting into contracts with broadcasters from all across the globe. Apart from the live broadcast, fans can enjoy the games live on Disney + Hotstar VIP. Meanwhile, Sky Sports will be broadcasting the tournament live in the United Kingdom and Ireland, and cricket fans in the USA and Canada can resort to Willow TV. As for South Africa, Star India has signed a deal with SuperSport to broadcast the tournament live in the country.

Fox Sports has acquired the broadcasting rights of IPL in New Zealand and Australia, and Star India has got into contracts with local broadcasters in Afghanistan and Bangladesh for the IPL 2020.

All you need to know about the regional language live broadcast of the league

The following channels have been dedicated by Star India for the regional live broadcast of the IPL.

Hindi: Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports Hindi HD.

Tamil: Star Sports Tamil (for all days), and Vijay Super SD for live matches on all Sundays.

Telugu: Star Sports Telugu (for all days), and Maa Movies SD and HD for live matches on Sundays.

Bengali: Star Sports Bangla (all match days), and Jalsha Movies SD and HD for Sundays.

Kannada: Star Sports Kannada (all match days), and Star Suvarna SD and HD for live matches on Sundays.

Marathi: Star Pravah SD and HD for the live matches on all Sundays.

Malayalam: Asianet Plus SD for the live matches on all Sundays.

Along with these channels, the national broadcaster Doordarshan (DD) will air some of the IPL matches. Also, DD sports will broadcast one IPL match per week, with the one-hour delay.

Jio and Disney + Hotstar are partnering to offer free IPL 2020 matches for selected customers – the benefit can be availed with Hotstar Prepaid Plans and Jio Fiber plans. Jio Fiber Customers with plans of Rs 849 and above will be able to watch IPL 2020 live for free. The 1-year Disney + Hotstar subscription worth Rs. 399 can be availed to stream the IPL matches live.

List of broadcast details in other countries

UK and Ireland: Sky Sports, Yupp TV

Australia: Fox Sports, Kayo Sports

USA and Canada: Willow TV

South-East Asia including Malaysia, Singapore and South America: Yupp TV

South Africa, the Middle East and North Africa: SuperSport

No live telecast of the IPL in Pakistan

There will be no live telecast of the IPL in Pakistan. Pakistan has banned the live coverage of the 2020 IPL in the country, and the ban comes as a response after India broadcaster stopped their T20 league coverage in India. If the tournament gets broadcast in Pakistan, then GEO Super (Geo TV) will be the official broadcaster of the league in the country.