Hardik Pandya Picks MS Dhoni Over Rohit Sharma As All-time IPL XI Captain

Founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008, The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional T20 cricket league contested during the summer of every year in India. The IPL works on a franchise-based system and there are currently eight teams participating in the cricket league. The IPL has completely changed the way cricket is played in India and integrated the entertainment industry into it as well.

There are various factors that have contributed to the unprecedented growth of the IPL. First, unlike other cricket formats, IPL T20 has a very short game period, of just about three hours. Therefore, the matches are saved from being long and hectic and offer great entertainment value.

The IPL offers broadcasters the chance to generate huge revenues, much more than other tournaments. Plus, it’s hosted in India, the country with the most cricket following in the world. Therefore, a large amount of money is put into telecasting. From world-class players to Bollywood celebrities, everything just adds into the money just like a multiplying machine. If you compare any other league with the IPL, there isn’t that much money, players, as well as viewers.

Also, the IPL features players who have retired from international cricket, giving cricket fans the chance to watch their favourite players on the field again. In addition to this, there are players from small cities and towns who get a chance to showcase their talent to the world. Hardik Pandya, Jaspreet Bumrah, and Manoj Tiwari are some of the players from the young lot to get worldwide recognition for their performance in the league.

Perhaps, the best part of the IPL is that fans can easily support and cheer their favourite players regardless of which nation they are from. Needless to say, we can’t support AB de Villiers or Brett Lee when they’re playing against India. However, when it comes to IPL, we get a chance to support and idolize our favourite players.

The glitz and glamour of the IPL is also something that makes it one of the most popular leagues in the world. The celebrities and industrialists investing money on the teams capture the attention of the media. Also, from after parties to on-field disagreements, every move made by them become a large issue just like the film stars. And how can we forget the grand opening of the IPL!

Watching IPL with your family or friends is a great way to pass time, and placing bets makes it more interesting. In fact, many IPL fans are more than eager to place bets on their favourite players or teams as they think that it’s a good way to show support. But before placing bets, you should read the cricket betting tips to improve your chances of winning. 

The IPL, which was supposed to start on March 29 this year, went missing due to the coronavirus pandemic. As of now, the competition remains suspended for an uncertain period of time. Though some experts predict that the IPL might happen later this year, there is no official confirmation from the BCCI over the same.

Hardik picks a star-studded team with four genuine bowlers

However, amid the lockdown period, many cricketers have picked them IPL all-time XIs, and Hardik Pandya is no exception to it. Hardik has been one of the key members of the Indian cricket team across all formats. The all-rounder has proved his worth as he has contributed immensely on numerous occasions. Hardik Pandya, who made his debut for Mumbai Indians in 2015, soon became a major part of the team.

Hardik was in a conversation on Cricbuzz with cricket analyst Harsha Bhogle where he chose his all-time IPL XI. The Mumbai Indians all-rounder has picked a star-studded team and has also included himself at number 7 along with four other genuine bowlers.

Hardik has picked Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma to open the innings. Both of them are considered legends of the T20 format thanks to their extraordinary batting skills. The middle-order consisted of RCB duo Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. These RCB teammates were followed by Suresh Raina, who is known as Mr IPL for his heroics while playing for the CSK since the inception of the league. Also, he is the second-highest run-getter of the IPL and has scored almost all of his runs at three.

Hardik chose MS Dhoni as the captain and wicket keeper of the team, which is quite surprising after considering the fact that Pandya has played under Rohit’s captaincy for five years. However, one can’t ignore the fact that Dhoni has led CSK into the playoffs in every season he has played. At no 7, Hardik Pandya chose himself to don the all-rounder’s role.

The bowling side consists of two spinners and two fast bowlers

The bowling side consisted of two spinners and two fast bowlers. Rashid Khan and Sunil Narine who play for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will look after the spin-bowling department. Both of them are two of the most successful spinners in IPL.

The fast bowling responsibilities in the team are on the shoulders of the Mumbai Indians duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga. Both Bumrah and Malinga are known for their precise Yorkers and deceptive slower ones.

Hardik Pandya’s all-time IPL XI: Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Hardik Pandya, Sunil Narine, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.