Chennai Super Kings (CSK) all-time best XI

Having reached the playoffs in each of the ten seasons they have been part of the prestigious league, Chennai Super Kings is the most consistent team in the history of IPL. Also, it’s the second most successful team in IPL history, having bagged the title three times. Over the years, CSK has largely depended on its tried and tested players, making only slight changes in their team composition.

At, we’ve tried to come up with the all-time best CSK XI, comprising players who have represented the franchise over the years. If you’re into cricket betting, we provide reviews of online betting sites with the best cricket betting odds, and you can also take advantage of our cricket betting tips to make strategic bets.

Michael Hussey

Michael Hussey would be one of the opening batsmen in this team sheet of all-time CSK XI. Hussey was a part of CSK in the 2008 edition of the IPL, where he played only four matches but scored a brilliant century. He did not feature a lot during his first few years in the team. However, he came to the fore after scoring 492 runs for CSK in IPL 2011.

The Australian is the highest run-scorer among the foreign players for CSK. With 1,768 runs in the IPL for CSK, he is the highest run-scorer among foreign players for the franchise. 

Mathew Hayden

In this all-time CSK XI, Mathew Hayden would be the opening batsman with his fellow Michael Hussey. Hussey is the recipient of Orange Cap, having ended as the top-scorer in the 2009 edition of the IPL.

Hussey was a part of the CSK team for three seasons, where he scored 1,107 runs for the yellow brigade. This run tally came at a decent average of 36.90. Scoring his runs at a decent strike-rate of 137.31, Hayden is the third-highest run-scorer among CSK players.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina is the highest run-scorer for CSK in the history of the IPL. Also, he is the only batsman to have scored 350+ runs in each and every season of the tournament, which arguably makes him the most consistent batsman in IPL’s history. Moreover, Raina was the first batsman to cross the 5000 runs mark in the history of the IPL.

Raina has aggregated 4527 runs for CSK, doing so at an average of 33.28 and a strike rate of 137.34. Apart from his attacking strokeplay, the Uttar Pradesh skipper is also a handy bowler as well as a terrific fielder.

Faf du Plessis

Francois du Plessis made his IPL debut in 2012, where he scored 398 runs for CSK. In the 2013 and 2014 seasons, Faf scored 303 and 380 respectively. He is a classy batsman who plays according to the situation, and the one CSK could depend on at the top of the order.

Du Plessis joined Rising Pune Supergiants in 2016 but didn’t get many opportunities. In the 2019 season, he scored 396 runs for CSK, almost matching the aggregate from his debut season. The Proteas captain has scored 1852 runs in 71 matches at an average of 31.40.

MS Dhoni

The first name on this team sheet has to be of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Having led CSK to 3 IPL titles and 2 CLT2Os, Dhoni is arguably the best captain in IPL history. Also, he is among the top 10 run-scorers in IPL with 4,432 runs.

With 3,858 runs to his credit, Dhoni is the second-highest run-scorer for CSK. These runs come at an average of 44.34, and an impressive strike rate of 140.03. The former India skipper has struck 209 sixes in the IPL, the most by any Indian batsman.

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo would play seam-bowling all-rounder’s role in this all-time CSK XI. The Trinidadian made his IPL debut with Mumbai Indians but joined CSK in 2011. Bravo would play a crucial both the bat and bowl in death overs. Also, he is a brilliant fielder who has the ability to stop the flow of runs.

With 104 wickets to his name, Bravo is the highest wicket-taker for CSK in the history of the IPL. These wickets come at an average of 23.12 and an economy rate of 8.37. The West Indian has also scored 927 runs for the Yellow Army at an average of 26.38 and a strike rate of 135.52.

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja is one of the best Indian all-rounders in IPL. It won’t be wrong to name Jadeja as a three-dimensional cricketer, as he can bat, bowl as well as field very well. He has been one of the critical cricketers for CSK since he joined the team in 2012.

The Saurashtra all-rounder is the second-highest Indian wicket-taker in the history of IPL, taking 81 wickets at an average of 24.87 and an economy rate of 7.45. With the bat in hand, Jadeja has scored 865 runs for CSK, doing so at an average of 21.62 and a strike rate of 126.46.

Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin started his CSK in 2009 and following a range of good performances, secured his place in the Indian team. He took 13 and 20 wickets in the 2010 and 2011 seasons of the IPL. Since then, he has picked up more than 10 wickets in every IPL season.

Ashwin has taken 90 wickets for CSK at an average of 24.22 and an economy rate of 6.45. His economy rate is best among all the Indian bowlers who have bowled more than 250 balls for the franchise.

Deepak Chahar

Deepak Chahar was a part of Rising Pune Supergiant in his first two seasons and was bought by Chennai Super Kings in the 2018 auction. In his first season with CSK, Chahar picked up 10 wickets as the Yellow Army won the IPL title for the third time.

In the 2019 edition of the IPL, Chahar enjoyed a joyous season as he picked up 22 wickets. He came third in the race for Purple Cap, only behind Imran Tahir and Kagiso Rabada.

Imran Tahir

In this team sheet of all-time CSK XI, Imran Tahir would play the role of attacking leg-spinner. The South African spinner was in full form in IPL 2019, and he won the Purple Cap for the 26 wickets he snared.

Overall, Tahir has picked up 32 wickets for CSK in the last two IPL seasons, which comes at an average of 19.34 and economy rate of 7.28.

Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma was contracted by Chennai Super Kings in 2013, where he picked up 20 wickets for the Yellow Army. He played 15 matches in the 2014 IPL and took 23 wickets. He picked up 14 wickets in the 2015 edition of the IPL and was brought by Kings XI Punjab after this. In his IPL career, Mohit Sharma has bagged 91 wickets in 85 matches.